Throughout the House

Covering everything from the bedroom closet to the kitchen closet

Adventures in Pie-Making

Last week, I went strawberry picking with a couple of friends. It was a great time, but we ended up with way more strawberries than any three people and their families might need. We used some of them to make jam, which is a story for another time, and the rest continued to be unused. Unused, that is, until last night, when (after making even more jam) we made a pie.

I had never made a pie before. It was exciting. So exciting, in fact, that I took pictures and decided it would be the next thing worthy of blogging about. But first, I have to clarify a bit: I didn’t really do any of the hard-work pie-making. My friend’s mom made the crust. All I really did was cut the strawberries and stir them with some sugar and flour. But hey, that’s something.

IMG_7243

You may notice we also threw some blueberries in there too. It was a pretty wild night. Anyway, after mixing about four cups of strawberries and a couple handfuls of blueberries with about 2/3 cup of sugar and a little less than 1/3 cup of flour and a squirt of lemon juice, we dumped it into the pie crust and moved on to the latticing stage.

Again, I did not do most of the work on this. My friend took charge of cutting the remaining crust and then I helped by holding some pieces up while she wove them together. I still like to think of it as a team effort though.

IMG_7246My friend’s mom did the crimping around the edges after we were finished weaving, and then we stuck it in the oven. I think the times and temperatures were something like 20 minutes at 400 and then about 10 at 375, but I wasn’t watching it or paying attention because I was too busy being excited about the first ever pie I’ve ever made!!!!

It came out a little soupy, but soupy pie is better than no pie at all. IMG_7250

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 13, 2014 by in Food and tagged , , , , .

Navigation

